Australian rules football: 2010 Gippsland Football League round 2 – Traralgon v Wonthaggi

Saturday, April 17, 2010

Traralgon, Victoria — Traralgon defeated Wonthaggi this past Saturday in round two of the Gippsland Football League (officially Gippsland League, GL). Traralgon came off a thirty eight point win against Moe with Wonthaggi beating Leongatha by a single point.

April 17, 2010
Trearalgon Maroons 16-14 110
Wonthaggi Power 6-9 45
Recreation ReserveTraralgon, VictoiraAustralia

With two goals separating the teams at the end of the first quarter and three and half time, Wonthaggi looked like they could upset the 2009 Grand Finalists. Traralgon, however, had other ideas, pushing their lead to five goals at the end of the third quarter and kicking five goals and six behinds to Wonthaggi’s sole behind in the final quarter.

In other round two matches, Warrgul lost to Sale, Leongatha lost to Morwell, and Maffra defeated Moe.

Around the Grounds

April 3Warragul 10-7 67 db Sale 16-10 106

April 10Leongatha 12-11 83 db Morwell 19-12 126Maffra 18-14 122 d Moe 7-11 53


The Gippsland Football League is considered one of the “major leagues” controlled by the Victorian Country Football League, the governing body of Australian rules football in regional Victoria, Australia.

At the league’s annual general meeting in December, it changed it’s name from the West Gippsland Latrobe Football League. At the same meeting, Wonthaggi joined the GL after dominating the Alberton Football League during the past decade. Wonthaggi made five concecutive Alberton Grand Finals winning three, losing only to Yarram (2007) and Stony Creek (2009).

Wonthaggi Power Football Club is a result of a merger between Wonthaggi Blues, a former Gippsland FL team, and Wonthaggi Rovers, an Alberton FL team. In February, the Gippsland Football League announced that Wonthaggi would be changing their uniforms, because their original one was similar to that of Warragul.